The Character or Form of God

Manonfire63

Religious Affiliation
Christian
Acceptance of the Trinity & Nicene Creed
Yes
I have been a life long Christian. Faith starts with belief. Faith is a journey of getting to know God. My journey in faith really started to take off around the age of 30. A big part of that, was realizing the character of God. Growing in faith with God, whom has invisible qualities, you may need to have his character right.

A lot of Christian will tell you God is Love. (1 John 4:8) That is easy enough. One day, a decade or so ago, I was scrolling down my Facebook News Feed, and on a veterans Facebook, he wrote: "The Lord is a Man of War." (Exodus 15:3) I am a veteran. For some reason, that made me nervous or I didn't like the idea. The Lord is a man of war would be a theme that runs through the Bible. (Isaiah 42:13)(Matthew 10:34-37)

The Lord is a man of war, made me a little nervous, at first, but I identified something in myself. Over the next few months, slowly, my perceptions changed.

God is love. Jesus chastises and rebukes those he loves. (Hebrew 12:6)(Revelations 3:19)

With a few small corrections, someone with some false perceptions they had, for whatever reason, they may become centered on God. God has a Form, like Plato and the Forms. God is the most ideal version of himself. Given someone had a post modern mush God, they may not like that Jesus chastises and rebukes. They may have been selectively reading. Given we are centered on the character of God, the Form of God, with some prayer and Bible study, we may be wearing our full armor of God. (Ephesian 6: 10-18) People who love Jesus, love Truth and Justice.

Last edited:

Manonfire63

Religious Affiliation
Christian
Yes
Plato and the Forms is something I discovered, around the age of 30, after finding God in a big way. Plato and The Forms, it has been "Spiritually Relevant."

Short Video: Plato On: The Forms