Eastern Orthodox Only What makes an icon an icon and not just art?

Lamb

God's Lil Lamb
Community Team
Administrator
Supporting Member
Religious Affiliation
Lutheran
Political Affiliation
Conservative
Marital Status
Married
Acceptance of the Trinity & Nicene Creed
Yes
This thread has a prefix of Eastern Orthodox Only because I don't want to get into an argument about icons. I'm looking for explanations from those members who understand it.

I'm an artist and I appreciate the religious icons but I have no idea what really makes an icon an icon and not just art? If I were to paint one (and I mean copy a nice looking one I see) is it an icon or is it just a painting?

Arsenios

Religious Affiliation
Eastern Orthodox
Political Affiliation
Conservative
Marital Status
Single
Iconography is the Sacred Art of the Church...

It is "written", which means that every element in the icon's images carries a meaning from the Gospel of Christ...

We cannot depict the Holy Trinity in an Icon...

Nor God the Father...

Nor God the Holy Spirit...

For these are without Image...

But we can depict God the Son Incarnate...

So that in pre-literate times, the Holy Books were too precious and too hard to duplicate for everyone to have their own written material...

Nor would most know how to read them if they did have them...

Christ Himself taught more by His Life than by His Old Testament words...

The Gospels are human accounts of that Life witnessed and touched by men...

The Written evokes living and moving images of that Life...

Iconography in the Church does the same, yet not in a naturalistic way...

But instead in an Iconic way -

No perspectival representations but all flat...