Church Hiring? Does the process need a Change?

J.Money

Religious Affiliation
Christian
Political Affiliation
Conservative
Marital Status
In Relationship
This is specifically aimed at those who are on a church staff or in ministry of some sort.

I have found that the majority of staff positions and the hiring process in the church seems to be political. It seems as if those who have an advantage for the position are those who have connections. Is this wrong?

A little background info; I've applied to nearly 30 churches for a ministry job. I have some experience, a degree in youth ministry and preaching from a reputable school, and currently working on a Master's of Divinity. Out of those churches I've gotten 2 interviews and no job offers.

The main question I want to discuss is about what churches really consider when hiring a new ministry candidate. Are my credentials not good enough? Why does it seem like they don't take the time to get to know the candidate (me)?

I would appreciate all thoughts and advice, as well as your take on how churches hire candidates and if the process needs a change.

Thanks, and I look forward to hearing from everyone!

78ebebc4c604e0dae912b3cfd374ef67.jpg

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

tango

... and you shall live ...
Valued Contributor
Religious Affiliation
Christian
Marital Status
Married
Acceptance of the Trinity & Nicene Creed
Yes
That's an interesting question.

Before I answer, just a side note, your faith icon says you're agnostic but from the tone of the post I'm going to guess that's wrong. If you let us know what you'd like it to be one of the admins can change it for you.